Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

2nd pair of rotors in 6 months - am I doing it wrong?

Cliff's notes are:
-installed new rotors and pads on (O'Reilly's parts if it matters) after buying the car. They were all shot, especially the front...warped and pads were on the squeakers.
-After the install, no issues for about 2-3 months.
-After that, started noticing shaking again. Fronts are shot, again. So, new pads and rotors are coming. It's only been about 6 months.

This is probably the 5th or 6th time ever installed rotors and pads. I feel like I'm fairly competent. I have a list that I use and go step by step. So, am I doing something wrong or does the FiST just wear them out that fast? I'm a grandpa driver at best. Don't wait to the last second to brake. Come to think of it, I've never had to change rotors this fast before.

Any ideas/comments of something common or easy that I might be missing or doing wrong? Ask away.

Definitely not normal. Have you checked the calipers themselves?

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

OP
358R
Thread Starter #4
Definitely not normal. Have you checked the calipers themselves?

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk
No. Look for sticking or something? Maybe I didn't compress them enough?

TyphoonFiST

9000 Post Club
Premium Account
Cliff's notes are:
-installed new rotors and pads on (O'Reilly's parts if it matters) after buying the car. They were all shot, especially the front...warped and pads were on the squeakers.
-After the install, no issues for about 2-3 months.
-After that, started noticing shaking again. Fronts are shot, again. So, new pads and rotors are coming. It's only been about 6 months.