Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

3 weeks...

I've had the car for three weeks and I can say I that I don't know the car well enough, hence, the reason for this email.

I'm obviously with happy with a lot of things, but there's something about the rear of the car when pushed that doesn't give me certainty. That "could" be time in terms of knowing the cars strengths...and weaknesses. Further, there may be other factors that aren't even suspension related...

The thought that comes to mind is the word: grounded. It's a taut little machine, but when I pushed it yesterday, maybe 70-80%, I didn't feel comfortable enough to push it further. This just could be more seat time.

Here are my thoughts and I would like some of your thoughts...
1) I'm still new to the car and it's dynamics, especially I haven't driven a stick regularly for some time.
2) Give it a proper alignment. There's an alignment close by...old school- Johnson's. It's always been the best buck for your money.
2a) Are there components that make it adjustable in the rear? Sorry, I didn't see that info in other profiles.
3) There's a bit of gap from the tire...and the wheel well in terms of widening it. Wondering if some spacers can make that handle better?
4) Lowering springs...is not out of the question, but this will be a last resort. It's a lease. And once you change spring rate and not the shocks...there "seems" to be an imbalance.
5) Changing sway bar bushings as a cheap alternative.

Lastly, I had an SVT focus which was dialed in. Truthfully, the damn thing was a lemon....Always broke down, BUT it handled really well. Adjustable Koni's, Intrax springs and sway bars.