Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Android Voice Texting with Sync 3?

SteveS

1000 Post Club
I've been using Sync 3 in my F150 since Feb 2018, and now we have it in our Fiesta S as well. Both are at v. 3.0. Call us antediluvian, but until a few weeks ago we were still using Windows 10 phones. Finally had to give them up because the apps we used were discontinued (facebook, instagram, Weather Channel). Got some Android phones running Android 9 (Pie?). With the Windows phone, connected via Bluetooth, when you got a text, the Sync 3 would talk to you as well as show a screen pop. It would say, "You got a text from ______. Do you want to read it or ignore it?" If you said, "Read it," Sync 3 would read the text and then ask, "Do you want to reply or are you done?" If you said, "Reply," Sync 3 would ask, "What do you want to say?" After you said what you wanted, it would read it back and ask if you wanted to send or add more.

This was one of the greatest things, to be able to respond to texts and phone calls without having to get the phone out of your pocket, or even touch a button or screen in the car. Now with the Android phones, which are supposed to be more "modern", we cannot do that. All we get is a screen pop, and the Sync 3 says, in a voice that is virtually inaudible, "You got a text," while a screen pop with a button that says Read appears for a few milliseconds (I am exaggerating, but it's a very short time). I can find no setting in Sync 3 nor in the phone or the messaging app that allows voice to text without having to handle the phone and tap the screen.

Is there not a messaging app available on Android that allows voice to text over Sync 3?

OP
S

SteveS

1000 Post Club
Thread Starter #3
The Android Auto app will do all that and more.