Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

HP upgrades by cost, including labor?

So i've got a '15 FIST with some mods done. Rear mount, lowering springs, K&N CAI, Magnaflow exhause delete, some cosmetics like splitter and spoiler extenders. Love the car, love the handling most of all, but if i had to pin down a weak point it's pure go. I doubt the current setup added much HP to the stock 198 so im looking at the next options. The next change i want is more HP.

Im not rich and i have wifey and kids so i can't just go spend $8k on anything, taking this one small step at a time. I have looked through many of the threads in Engine Upgrades. The ones that stand out most are catback and also downpipe. Im still new to automotive in general but as i understand it, the less resistance to exhause, the less power is robbed through friction.

Will a downpipe do any good without a catback first, and visa versa? And the bigger question really, are there any modes that include labor which are better to do first on a budget? I don't know enough to do any of these myself yet so i would be finding a shop. Assuming a local shop offers average labor cost, anything stand out as the next step ?

For context, this is more or less a project car to learn on as i go, i'd like to get it to about 300HP eventually. I have seen a few on YT at over 300 that were relatively affordable. Just trying to get a feel for what everything will cost. If i had to guess i'd say the catback is a good option as it seems easier to access than other mods but i wanted to defer to you guys here. Any advice is appreciated and will be reading in the meantime, thanks !

Hypergram

1000 Post Club