Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Suspension 3d Model?

Hi, I am an engineering student trying to design custom sway bars for my 2013 fiesta. I mostly just want to see what it will do. Does anyone have 3d models or drawings for any/all suspension components?

OP
PapaJim13
Thread Starter #3
While racing, speed is key, but the track inevitably curves from left to right causing a need to brake, turn, and accelerate. All these inputs cause weight transfer across the vehicle’s 4 tires leading to unequal tire loading from right to left as well as forward and back. An increase or decrease in a tire’s normal force on the ground will affect the amount of “grip” (lateral and fore/aft force the tire can withstand before slipping over the pavement) available. In turning situations it is important that no tire looses traction, it could lead to loss of traction in more tires, potentially leading to a loss of control and a crash. To take turns as fast as physically possible, a more equal grip on the road surface is needed. Front and rear sway bars exist already to counteract roll (lateral weight transfer) but there are no forward to rear sway bars to prevent fore/aft weight transfer caused by braking and acceleration.

IE: I want to power through turns and keep front wheel traction, another added benefit is it will prevent lift off oversteer.

So if I am understanding correctly, you want a swaybar that connects from front to rear in order to prevent things like nose dive under braking?
Isn't the yaw going front and back mostly the job of the shocks and springs

OP
PapaJim13
Thread Starter #5